Legendary southern rockers to be inducted to Alabama Music Hall of Fame


November 21, 2015 – Earlier this week Alabama Music Hall of Fame chairman Bill Newton announced the new inductees; Producer Johnny Sandlin, southern rockers Wet Willie and the legendary Muscle Shoals Horns as well as ex-Allman Brothers Band keyboardist Chuck Leavell round out the list of 2016 Alabama Music Hall Of Fame inductees.

Johnny Sandlin played drums in Hour Glass, Pre-Allman Brothers group formed by Gregg and Duane Allman. He later went on to become head of A&R and label vice-president at Capricorn Records. Sandlin has produced, mixed and mastered albums for the Allman Brothers Band, Gregg Allman, Dickey Betts, Elvin Bishop, Wet Willie, Cowboy, Widespread Panic and many others.

Wet Willie of course is hailing from Mobile, Alabama and was hugely popular in 70’s. Nowadays they are mainly remembered for their biggest hit Keep You Smilin’, which broke into top ten, but Wet Willie has a strong catalogue of songs from Country Side of Life to Dixie Rock.

Chuck Leavell was just 20 years old when he joined the Allman Brothers Band in 1972. The first LP he recorded with the Southern rockers was “Brothers and Sisters,” which included the classics Ramblin’ Man and Southbound, and topped the Billboard 200. Following the Allmans’ breakup a few years later, Leavell formed the jazz-rock band Sea Level with Allmans drummer Jaimoe, but is perhaps best remembered as Rolling Stones keyboard player since 1982.

Next year’s induction ceremony is scheduled for February 26 at the Marriott Shoals Hotel & Spa in Florence.