The Whiskey River Band


The Whiskey River Band was founded in 1987 and hails a bit north of the Mason-Dixon line, from Wallingford, Connecticut. They have released two albums, which both have been on heavy rotation as well as other radio stations around the world.

Whiskey River Band released their debut album, Northern Lights In The Southern Skies, in 1991 with founding member Tom McLear on vocals and harmonica, Joe Lole – drums, John Kelly – bass/ vocals Chris Cioffi – keyboards,/vocals, Dennis Carbo – lead guitar and with Wayne Levandoski – lead & slide guitar. Northern Lights In The Southern Skies was re-released as a CD in 2007 with extra tracks along the old favorites. Follow up album, It’s About Time came out in 2006.

Over their 20 year career, they have shared the stage with bands like Charlie Daniels, The Outlaws, .38 Special, Johnny Winter, Marshall Tucker Band, Lynyrd Skynyrd and The Doobie Brothers.

Whiskey River Band has been through some changes over the years and the past year has been no different. With addition of veteran guitar slinger Tom Taggart to the band, last year also marked the return of two former members back to their rightful place in the Whiskey River Band family. Virginia born and bred Tyrone Tompkins is back on the bass guitar for his second tour of duty with the band. He’ll be teaming up with Jacksonville, Florida’s “Jammin” Jimmy Bossie on the drums, who  has logged more time behind the skins for the Whiskey River Band, than anybody in the band’s twenty plus year history.

The band’s new lineup is fresh and familiar all at the same time. Armed with their most versatile set list ever, the boys are poised to take the Whiskey River Band to a whole new audience, while keeping their faithful followers happily riding the “Whiskey Train.” Check

Whiskey River Band Discography:

1991  Northern Lights In The Southern Skies
2006  It’s About Time


Official website: