Point Blank

Point Blank hails from Texas and has stayed one of the most underrated bands from the 70’s Southern rock scene. They released six albums between 1976 and 1982 before breaking up. The band made come back in 2005 and released new studio album in 2009.

Point Blank rose from the ashes of local Dallas/Forth Worth area band Southpaw and was officially formed in 1974 by guitarists Rusty Burns and Kim Davis, lead singer John O’Daniel, drummer Buzzy Gruen and bassist Phillip Petty. Their self-titled debut album was produced by ZZ Top affliated Bill Ham and introduced a band that was up to par with Blackfoot and Molly Hatchet.

Point Blank`s relationship with Arista Records ended after follow up album, Second Coming, but they were soon signed to MCA and released Airplay in 1979 that included Southern rock classic, Mean to Your Queenie.

By 1981 vocalist John O’Daniel had left the band and their music took a turn into full blown AOR mode. Never the less, American Exce$$sold well and included Point Blank’s biggest hit to date, Nicole, but there were fights about their musical direction and finally tension between Rusty Burns and Kim Davis grew stronger and they finally broke up in 1982.

Point Blank reunited for benefit concert in 2005 with original members Rusty Burns, John O’Daniel as well as Phillip Petty and they have stayed together since. Their latest studio effort, Fight On! came out in 2009 and the band still keeps a busy tour schedule playing all over States and Europe.

Point Blank Discography:

1976  Point Blank
1977  Second Season
1979  Airplay
1980  The Hard Way
1981  American Exce$$
1982  On a Roll
2007  Reloaded (Live)
2009  Fight On!
2014  Volume 9